DirWiz Logo
Knowledgebase

Article Tags

Move or Reinstall UnitySync

2019-11-11 10:54:41
Licensing & Keys UnitySync 

Each UnitySync installation is licensed to run on a specific server identified by the serial number found on the UnitySync landing page.

Licensing rules apply when reinstalling or moving UnitySync to another server. The Serial Number is unique for every installation, so you’ll need a new license key. To obtain one, contact keys@dirwiz.com. Let us know the original licensed serial number (prior to reinstalling, upgrading or moving) and the new serial number as it appears on the UnitySync launch page. See the licensing section for more information.

Reinstalling a previous version is only possible if you have preserved your original installation files. UnitySync cannot distribute installation files for versions previous to the one currently available on our web site Downloads page.

Changing hostname or installation directory

You can move the files as noted in Method #1 below.
If the hostname of the install server changes, you will need a new license key (see above).

Moving your UnitySync installation

In order to move the UnitySync installation to a new server, you will have to transfer the program files and connection information to the new server, then obtain a new license key. This can be accomplished in one of two ways.

Move or Reinstall Options

Method #1:

Transplant …\UnitySync directory to new server/location

  1. Simply copy the entire …\UnitySync directory from the original location to the new server. This brings over all needed files from the previous version.

  2. If you automate your connections by running a script via a scheduled task, copy the script over to the new server.

  3. Make note of your Scheduled Task settings as you’ll want to set up similar Tasks on the new server.

Once you complete Method #1 steps, refer below to “Re-enable connections after reinstall/move.”

Method #2:

Re-install and move config/custom files

This is the recommended procedure if you are upgrading UnitySync software at the same time you are moving to a new server. Before you begin, be sure to review the Release Notes. There are a few items to be aware of when upgrading, which may or may not apply to your specific installation.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Prior to the Move, it is highly recommended that you run one last Discovery and Synchronization from the currently installed location.

  1. Download the latest version’s installation file to your new server.

  2. Follow the complete Upgrade Instructions in the Release Notes.

Once you complete Method #2 steps, continue below.

Re-enable connections after reinstall/move

After using either of the above methods you must continue to the following steps in order to re enable your connections and scheduled tasks.

  1. Reset file permissions on install directory: When \UnitySync or its subfolders are copied to a new server/location, the file permissions may be lost. It may be necessary to set file permissions as noted in this KB article.

  2. Request a new license key: Licensing rules apply when you are moving an installation of UnitySync to another server. You will need to request a replacement license key. Please see Requesting a Permanent License key for detailed instructions to obtain a new key.

  3. Test: Before running a sync on this new install, we recommend you run each connection using Discovery and Simulation (NOT Synchronization). Review the SIM log for any unexpected Add/Mod/Delete.

IMPORTANT NOTE: It is not uncommon for a version upgrade to trigger mods to all objects, so don’t be too concerned if that is what you see. If you have any questions about your Simulation results, contact Technical Support.

  1. Reset IIS virtual directory: If you are using a Web Server rather than dirweb.exe, you will will need to update settings for the UnitySync virtual directory. Refer to the Web Server Configuration document for more information.

  2. Resuming Scheduled Syncs: You are probably running your connections automatically via use of scheduled batch scripts. Be sure you have copied your script from the old server to the new. If necessary, edit the script on this new server, such as to identify the correct install path of UnitySync (if now different). Recreate your Windows Scheduled Task settings on the new server to automate your connections as desired.

This completes the steps to Move or Move/Upgrade your UnitySync software on a new server. Please contact Technical Support for additional help if necessary.

Share this article: Twitter reddit